Database of drugs that can not be cut or crushed

This database presents all of Canada's oral medications that cannot be cut or crushed and possible alternatives. It is updated on the first day of each month. You can access and print it for use in your professional activities .

Can transdermal patches be cut?

The following documents (links) will help the health professional to determine which transdermal patches can be cut or modified. However, the context in which the patches will be used, should always be evaluated first.
In a hospital setting, qualified personnel is available to perform the necessary manipulations, according to a well established protocol, and in case ...

Alternative routes of medication administration

When a medication is administered by a different route than the one for which it has been approved, it is called a ''non official'', ''non approved'', ''Off Label'' or alternative route of administration. Many examples come to mind, such as an oral tablet given rectally, ophtalmic drops given orally or a parenteral solution given orally.

About the Author

Peter Dvorak earned a Bachelor of Pharmacy in 1996 at the University of Montreal, a Postgraduate Diploma in Community Pharmacy at Laval University in Quebec City in 2002 and a CTH (Certificate in Travel Health) from the International Society of Travel Medicine in 2015. He has 21 years of experience in community pharmacy as a pharmacist employee, Chief pharmacist and pharmacy owner . He is the author of fifteen scientific articles in journals Quebec Pharmacie and Actualité Pharmaceutique. For his contribution to the continuous education of his peers, he was awarded the Blue Pages 1996 Quebec Pharmacy award, IMS HEALTH 2000 award and 2005 Quebec your care Pharmacy award. For the past ten years, he is interested in the oral medications formulations and the possibility to modify them in order to facilitate administration to patients with swallowing difficulties . He currently owns two community pharmacies in the Montreal region.

Base de données sur les médicaments ne pouvant être coupés ou écrasés

Cette base de données présente tous les médicaments oraux du Canada ne pouvant être coupés ou écrasés ainsi que les alternatives possibles. Elle est mise à jour le premier jour de chaque mois. Vous pouvez y accéder et l'imprimer afin de l'utiliser dans vos activités professionnelles.

Est-il possible de couper des timbres transdermiques?

Dans un contexte hospitalier, la manipulation est réalisée par un personnel qualifié selon un protocole établi et en cas de réaction indésirable il est possible corriger rapidement le problème. Par conséquent, on peut suggérer de couper les timbres qui sont théoriquement sécables. Le milieu hospitalier offre un contexte où on peut tenter d'individualiser ...

Voies d'administration non officielles ou alternatives

Lorsqu'un médicament est donné par une voie d'administration différente que celle pour laquelle il a été commercialisé, on parlera alors d'une voie d'administration non officielle, non-approuvée, ''OFF LABEL'' ou alternative. On peut citer plusieurs exemples, tel un comprimé oral donné par voie rectale, des gouttes ophtalmiques administrées ...

À propos de l'auteur

Peter Dvorak a obtenu un Baccalauréat en pharmacie en 1996 à l'Université de Montréal, un DESS en pharmacie communautaire à l'Université Laval de Québec en 2002 et un CTH de la International Society of Travel Medicine en 2015. Il cumule 21 ans d' expérience en pharmacie communautaire en tant que pharmacien salarié, pharmacien chef et pharmacien propriétaire. Il est auteur d'une quinzaine d'articles scientifique dans les revues Québec Pharmacie et l'Actualité Pharmaceutique. Pour sa contribution à la formation de ses pairs, il a obtenu le prix Pages Bleues 1996 de Québec Pharmacie, IMS HEALTH 2000 et À vos soins 2005 de Québec Pharmacie. Depuis les dix dernières années, il s'intéresse à la galénique des médicaments oraux et à la possibilité de les modifier afin d'en faciliter l'administration aux patients ayant des difficultés de déglutition. Il est présentement propriétaire de deux pharmacies communautaires dans la région de Montréal.